Leadership and Staff

Advisory Council

Nicholas Platt

Ambassador Nicholas Platt is the Chairman of the USCET Advisory Council. 

Martin dePorres Cargas

Martin dePorres "Marty" Cargas is a Senior Advisor at McLarty Associates, an international strategic and government relations advisory firm.

Marlene Johnson

Marlene Johnson is executive director and chief executive officer of NAFSA: Association of International Educators, the world's largest association dedicated to international education.

Robert A. Kapp

Robert A. Kapp is president of Robert A. Kapp & Associates, Inc., Port Townsend, Washington, USA.

David Michael Lampton

David Michael Lampton is George and Sadie Hyman Professor, the director of China Studies at the Johns Hopkins School of Advanced International Studies (SAIS), and the Chairman of The Asia Foundatio

Henry Levine

Henry Levine is a highly regarded US expert on China who brings to USCET thirty years of experience in promoting US-China relations in the government and private sector.

James McGregor

James McGregor is the CEO of James McGregor Inc., a China-focused advisory firm based in Beijing.

Peter McPherson

Peter McPherson is president of the Association of Public and Land-grant Universities (APLU), the nation's oldest higher education association.

Torkel Patterson

Torkel Patterson, President of Raytheon International Inc., previously worked as a Special Assistant to the President and Senior Director of Asian Affairs to the National Security

Thomas Pickering

Ambassador Tom Pickering has been, since December 2006, Vice Chairman of Hills & Company, International Consultants.

Chang An Tien

Dr. Chang’an Tien is a Senior Consultant and Executive Vice President of B-M China.

Ko-Yung Tung

Ko-Yung Tung practices law in New York City where he is senior counselor at Morrison & Foerster LLP. His practice focuses on international law and cross-border transactions.

Susan Weld

Susan Weld is an Adjunct Professor of Law and the Executive Director of the Law Asia Leadership at Georgetown University.

Kurt Campbell

Kurt M. Campbell is Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of The Asia Group, LLC, a strategic advisory and investment group specializing in the dynamic and fast growing Asia Pacific region.


Julia Chang Bloch

Julia Chang Bloch

Ambassador Julia Chang Bloch, the first Asian American to hold such rank in U.S.

 in charge of staff matters as well as general operations.

David Yao

David Yao is USCET’s special advisor in charge of staff matters as well as general operations.

Ye Sheng De Stefanis

Ye Sheng De Stefanis is the Program Director of US-China Education Trust. She oversees all program implementations and contributes to developing new initiatives.

Nathan Schlabach

Nathan Schlabach is the Communications Associate at the US-China Education Trust.

Adam Footlik

Adam Footlik is the Program Associate at US-China Education Trust. He assists in program implementation and evaluation, budget tracking, and development of new initiatives.

Advisors Emeriti

Doug Bereuter

Doug Bereuter became president of The Asia Foundation on September 1, 2004, immediately upon his resignation from U.S. Congress after 26 years of service.

Kathryn Mohrman

Kathryn Mohrman, Director of the Institute of University Design and Professor at the School of Public Affairs at Arizona State University, was formerly executive director of the Washington Program